The Provinces Opéra Hotel in Paris: a perfect blend of history and modernity

The building that exists today began life as Henri IV’s hunting lodge, then became a convent and a hospital before being converted into a hotel in 1850. Today’s Provinces Opéra Hotel masterfully blends the traces of this glorious past with a contemporary look. It’s ideally situated for forays into Paris, centrally located, and surrounded by opportunities for entertainment and shopping, with its theatres and famous old department stores, not to mention the Grands Boulevards.

History…

The former ‘Les Provinces’ hotel marks the spot where once stood King Henri Vi’s Hunting Lodge. Its interior was divided up by columns whose traces can still be seen near the bar. Other vestiges such as the flagstones in the Henri IV room testify to the presence of a courtyard.

Later, Henri IV donated the building to the convent of the ‘Filles de Dieu’ and the building was converted to its new purpose. Each cell was connected to the basement via a staircase, and underground passageways led to Paris, whose city walls were just a few steps away.

After the revolution, the convent became a National Property.

After the building was converted into a hotel in 1850, it was subject to constant modernisation, but the traces of the past were carefully preserved. Photos of the ‘Grand Hôtel du Pavillon’ as the hotel used to be known, are on display in the restaurant.

The architecture of the hotel’s various lounges has retained the early 20th-century look. Meanwhile, the bar built in 1925 is classified in the supplementary list of Historic Monuments. Its décor was designed and drawn by Robert Joël and completed under his direction:

  • Wordwork: Mr Streitmater (Paris)
  • Mosaics: La Compagnie française de Mosaïque de Maubeuge (Paris)
  • Stained glass: Mr Lefèvre (Paris)
  • Staff: Mr Michaud (Boulogne)
  • Wrought iron: Mr Coulon (Paris)
  • Furniture: Mr Brunewick (Paris)
  • Velvet: Maison de la Veuve Duchesne et Binet (Paris)
  • Sculpture: Mr Léonet (Montrouge)

Today’s hotel is a modern and comfortable establishment

The fashionable 10th arrondissement of Paris has become a thriving district of the capital and is a perfect base for your stay in Paris.

Whether on a business trip, alone, with friends or family, the Provinces Opéra Hotel’s 112 rooms are all decorated with a modern, designer look. Every room has a private bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer.

  • Single rooms with a 120 cm bed offer a cool and contemporary base for your stay in Paris
  • Standard rooms offer optimal comfort with a double or twin beds.

Please note:

  • The hotel is not specially equipped for disabled or reduced mobility access
  • Pets are not allowed
  • To ensure our guests enjoy a relaxing visit to Paris, all the hotel’s rooms are fitted with double glazing and air-conditioning.

Stay in Paris in an Art Déco ambiance

The Art Deco movement, which emerged in the 1920s in Paris, was full of charm and elegance.

Our Provinces Opéra Hotel in Paris is a genuine testament to that era and unique architectural style. Choose our hotel for your stay in Paris or simply enjoy a drink in our bar with its distinctive Art Deco ambiance.

Art Deco – a style that flourished in Paris

Art Deco initially flourished in the great European capitals – Brussels, Lisbon and particularly in Paris, before coming to international prominence. It all began in the Roaring Twenties – a period in which economic depression had taken hold. Art Deco offered an artistic response to Art Nouveau, and set great store by streamlined and geometric forms, which in turn influenced both architecture and design.

Its eclecticism and the diversity of materials used have ensured the longevity of this major design style.

During your stay in Paris, visit places like Palais de Chaillot, the Palais de Tokyo and the Porte Dorée… as well as our hotel in the Opéra district to soak up the atmosphere of Art Deco – a style which has stood the test of time and remains vibrant to this day.

The Provinces Opéra Hotel in Paris, an architectural testament to Art Deco

If you like Art Deco, you’ll love this charming hotel in Paris, ideally located in the Opéra district in the heart of a bustling, authentic Paris. During your stay in the capital, the Provinces Opéra Hotel will whisk you back to a bygone era – including a chance to admire, appreciate and relive the Art Deco ambiance over a drink at the hotel bar, built in 1925.

So if you love architecture, carefully preserved and picturesque places, the Provinces Opéra Hotel is the place for you! You’re guaranteed a unique ambiance and the warmest of welcomes.

L’hôtel Provinces Opéra à Paris : entre histoire et modernité

Pavillon de chasse d’Henri IV, couvent, hôpital, puis hôtel depuis 1850 : Provinces Opéra allie aujourd’hui les traces de son passé prestigieux, avec la modernité de sa décoration. Il est idéalement situé pour partir à la découverte de Paris, dans ce quartier central, au cœur du Paris festif (théâtre, grands magasins, …) et des Grands Boulevards.

Retraçons l’histoire…

L’Hôtel « Les Provinces » se situe à l’endroit où  s’élevait en 1593 le Pavillon de Chasse du Roi Henri IV. Sa cour intérieure était limitée par les colonnes dont on retrouve les vestiges près du bar. D’autres traces comme les pavés dans le salon Henri IV nous confirment la présence de cette cour.

Plus tard, Henri IV en fit don au couvent des « Filles de Dieu » et le bâtiment fut alors adapté à sa nouvelle destination. Chaque cellule communiquait avec le sous-sol par un escalier ; du sous-sol, des passages souterrains conduisaient vers Paris dont l’enceinte était à quelques pas.

A la Révolution, le couvent devint un Bien National.

Devenu hôtel à partir de 1850, il n’a cessé de se moderniser, mais toujours en préservant les vestiges du passé. Les photos du « Grand Hôtel du Pavillon », ancien nom des Provinces, sont visibles dans le restaurant.

L’architecture des salons a conservé son apparence du début du 20ème siècle. Quant au bar construit en 1925, il est classé sur la liste supplémentaire des Monuments Historiques. Sa décoration fut créée et dessinée par Robert Joël et exécutée sous sa direction :

  • Pour la menuiserie : Mr Streitmater (Paris)
  • Pour la mosaïque : La Compagnie française de Mosaïque de Maubeuge (Paris)
  • Pour les vitraux : Mr Lefèvre (Paris)
  • Pour le staff : Mr Michaud (Boulogne)
  • Pour les fers forgés : Mr Coulon (Paris)
  • Pour les meubles : Mr Brunewick (Paris)
  • Pour les velours : Maison de la Veuve Duchesne et Binet (Paris)
  • Pour la sculpture : Mr Léonet (Montrouge)

Aujourd’hui, un hôtel moderne et confortable

Le quartier en vogue du 10ème arrondissement a prit un véritable essor dans la capitale. Il est un lieu de villégiature idéal pour profiter pleinement de votre séjour dans la capitale.

Pour un séjour d’affaires, seul, en famille ou entres amis, l’Hôtel Provinces Opéra vous propose Les 112 chambres à l’hôtel Provinces Opéra sont toutes décorées dans un style moderne et design. Elles bénéficient d’une salle de bain privative avec baignoire, toilettes et sèche-cheveux.

  • Les chambres single dotées d’un lit 120cm accueillent une personne dans une ambiance sobre et contemporaine pour votre séjour à Paris.
  • Les chambres standard offrent un confort optimal avec un lit double ou des lits jumeaux.

A noter :

  • L’hôtel ne dispose pas d’aménagement spécialement conçu pour les personnes handicapées ou à mobilité réduite.
  • Les animaux de compagnie sont admis (avec supplément)
  • Pour que les clients passent un paisible séjour à Paris, toutes les chambres de l’Hôtel Provinces Opéra sont munies de fenêtres à double vitrage et de l’air conditionné.

Un Séjour à Paris dans une ambiance Art Déco

Né dans les années 20 à Paris, l’Art Déco a marqué par son charme et son élégance.

Notre Hôtel Provinces Opéra à Paris, est un véritable témoignage de cette époque et de ce style architectural sans égal. Une invitation à découvrir notre hôtel pour un séjour à Paris ou pour simplement prendre un verre dans notre bar au style si particulier qu’est l’Art déco.

L’Art déco, un style qui s’est exprimé fortement à Paris

L’Art Déco s’est d’abord installé dans les grandes capitales européennes, Bruxelles, Lisbonne et notamment Paris, avant de se diffuser à l’international. Né dans les années folles, dans une époque touchée par la dépression économique, l’Art Déco est une réponse artistique en réaction notamment à l’Art Nouveau. Ce mouvement a privilégié des formes épurées et géométriques, influençant architecture et design.

Marqué par son éclectisme, sa diversité de matériaux utilisés, ce style de déco est aujourd’hui encore incontournable en design.

Lors de votre séjour à Paris, allez visiter les lieux comme les Palais de Chaillot, de Tokyo ou encore de la Porte Dorée … et bien sûr, notre hôtel à Paris dans le quartier de l’Opéra pour vous imprégner du style Art Déco, qui a su traverser les époques sans prendre une ride.

L’hôtel Provinces Opéra à Paris, témoignage architectural de l’Art Déco

Vous aimez l’Art Déco ? vous allez aimer cet hôtel de charme à Paris, idéalement situé dans le quartier de l’Opéra en plein de cœur d’un Paris dynamique, d’un  Paris authentique… Le temps d’un séjour à Paris, l’hôtel Provinces Opéra vous replongera dans une autre époque…. c’est le moment d’admirer, apprécier et vivre le style Art Déco… devant un verre au bar de l’hôtel datant de 1925.

Amateurs d’architecture, de lieux soignés et pittoresques, l’Hôtel Provinces Opéra est donc fait pour vous. Venez profiterez d’une ambiance unique où nous vous réservons le meilleur accueil.